1. Home
  2. Writing
  3. BYU College Class
  4. Have any of your students gone on to publish books?

Have any of your students gone on to publish books?

Many of the writers who have taken my university class over the years have gone on to publish traditionally or independently. You might be interested in taking a look at their work. Here they are in alphabetical order:
Mason Allan
  • mrmasonallan.com
  • Mason Allan self-published his debut novel “Rebellion: The Departure,” a sci-fi novel that incorporates elements of the superhero, dystopian, and zombie apocalypse genres. You can find the book on Amazon. Allan plans to release a sequel before the end of 2019.
Steven Bohls
  • amazon.com/Steven-Bohls/e/B01NBMDLIC%3Fref=dbs
  • Traditionally published middle grade fantasy novels with Disney-Hyperion, Jed and the Junkyard War and Jed and the Junkyard Rebellion
  • Brandon’s review of Jed and the Junkyard War: “Jed and the Junkyard War will excite readers with its fast pace, quirky characters, and wacky world building.”
Rel Carroll

Max Florshutz

  • maxonwriting.com
  • Independently published wild west epic fantasy, Shadow of an Empire

Ben Grange

Charlie Holmberg

  • charlienholmberg.com
  • Traditionally published fantasy novels with 47 North, including The Paper Magician series
  • Brandon’s review of The Paper Magician: “Charlie is a vibrant writer with an excellent voice and great world building. I thoroughly enjoyed The Paper Magician.”
Christopher Husberg
  • christopherhusberg.com
  • Traditionally published epic fantasy series, the Chaos Queen Quintet, with Titan Books
  • Library Journal called Duskfall. Perfect for fans of Daniel Abraham and Brandon Sanderson.
Sahil Lavingia

Brian McClellan

  • brianmcclellan.com
  • Traditionally published epic fantasy novels with Orbit, including The Powder Mage Trilogy
  • Independently published several fantasies, including Uncanny Collateral
  • Brandon’s review of Promise of Blood: “This book is just plain awesome. I found myself enjoying every moment of it. Innovative magic, quick-paced plot, interesting world. I had a blast.”
Janci Patterson
  • jancipatterson.com
  • extraseriesbooks.com
  • Traditionally published contemporary YA novel Chasing the Skip with Henry Holt
  • Independently published several romance, fantasy, and contemporary YA novels, including A Thousand Faces, Boyless, and an updated text of Chasing the Skip called Skipped.
  • Brandon’s review of A Thousand Faces: “I absolutely loved A Thousand Faces. It has an engaging voice, a thrilling plot, and a fantastic premise that I wish I’d thought of first.”
John D. Payne
  •  johndpayne.com
  • Traditionally published epic fantasy novel The Crown and the Dragon (WordFire Press)
  • More than a dozen short fiction publications in magazines, anthologies, and audio.
  • Professional game writing publications, including the licensed RPG supplement Micronomicon: A Compendium of Magic coming later in 2019.

Caitlyn Sangster

Dustin Steinacker

Joe Vasicek

If you took Brandon’s class, have been published, and don’t see your name above, please contact us: brandonsanderson.com/contact/

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles